🏹 Free Archery Guides β€” Updated September 2026
BeginnerBow TypesSetupHuntingRanges
πŸ“ Minneapolis–St. Paul Archery Guide

Best Archery Ranges in Minneapolis–St. Paul: Indoor, Outdoor & Free Twin Cities Options

Bloomington's free 70-meter range, Three Rivers' pass-based park ranges and a 24-lane indoor club β€” winter-proof options verified October 2026.

βœ“ Last verified: October 20261 free 70-meter range⏱ 9 min read

The Twin Cities Split Into Three Access Worlds

"Archery range Minneapolis" is really a metro question with three distinct answers, and seasonality decides which one matters. Free and public: Bloomington's Marsh Lake range is the anchor β€” eighteen stations from 10 yards to 70 meters, free, no reservation, open year-round, bring your own equipment. Pass-based park ranges: Three Rivers runs Elm Creek, Mississippi Gateway and Carver on a $10/day or $47/year archery pass, and Lake Elmo asks for a vehicle permit. Indoor and club: Rapids Archery Club at Bunker Hills pairs 83 outdoor stations with a 24-lane indoor range ($5 for non-members), and Average Joes in Coon Rapids is the commercial winter option β€” because from November through March, indoor is the whole conversation. Two warnings that most local listicles miss: St. Paul's only public range, Pig's Eye, is officially closed, and several once-listed Minneapolis park ranges have no current official documentation. This guide owns the Twin Cities intent, verified October 2026.

πŸ“‹ Key Takeaways

  • Marsh Lake (Bloomington) is the free public anchor: 18 stations to 70 meters β€” Olympic distance β€” open year-round, no reservations, bring your own equipment.
  • Three Rivers park ranges (Elm Creek, Mississippi Gateway, Carver) share one pass: $10/day or $47/year β€” and passes do not include equipment.
  • Rapids Archery Club at Bunker Hills is the metro's biggest complex: 83 outdoor stations plus a 24-lane indoor range, $5 for non-members.
  • Average Joes in Coon Rapids is the climate-controlled commercial indoor: $25 Archery Experience, lessons from age 6, January leagues.
  • Pig's Eye Regional Park's archery range in St. Paul is officially CLOSED until further notice β€” stale directories still list it as open.
  • Winter is the real search season: Rapids' Winter Intro class runs January 2 – February 6, 2027 ($25, ages 8+).
πŸ“‘ Table of Contents Β· 7 sections Β· β–Ύ

Where Should You Shoot in the Twin Cities?

South metro

Marsh Lake in Bloomington is the default: free, year-round, 18 stations to 70 meters. Bring your own bow β€” rental equipment is not available β€” and leave broadheads at home (prohibited at all times).

West metro

Three Rivers park district runs Elm Creek (Dayton/Maple Grove, 30-acre range with a walk-through course) and Carver (Waconia). One pass covers them: $10/day or $47/year, ages 15 and under free with a paying adult.

North metro

Rapids Archery Club at Bunker Hills (Andover) is the club-and-indoor answer: 83 outdoor stations from 10 to 100 yards plus a 24-lane indoor range, $5 for non-members. Average Joes in Coon Rapids is the commercial indoor with lessons from age 6.

St. Paul / east metro

Honest answer first: Pig's Eye's archery range is officially closed. The working options are Keller Regional Park in Maplewood (park open 5 a.m.–11 p.m., details thin) and Lake Elmo Park Reserve (12 targets, vehicle permit required).

Free Public, Park Pass, Indoor Winter or Club Distance?

Free public

Marsh Lake (Bloomington) is the only officially documented free range: 10 yards to 70 meters, opens half an hour before sunrise, closes at dusk, open year-round. No reservations, no rentals β€” self-service.

Park pass outdoor

Elm Creek (30 acres, walk-through course, elevated platform), Mississippi Gateway (8 lanes, 10–50 yards) and Carver (year-round stationary range). All Three Rivers: $10/day or $47/year. Lake Elmo adds a vehicle permit.

Indoor / winter

Rapids' 24-lane indoor range ($5 non-members) and Average Joes' climate-controlled lanes in Coon Rapids. Rapids' Winter Intro class runs January 2 – February 6, 2027, ages 8+, $25 (max $50 per family).

Club distance & broadheads

Rapids at Bunker Hills: five outdoor ranges to 100 yards, plus the only dedicated broadhead range in the metro (broadheads and crossbows are allowed ONLY there). Three Rivers ranges allow them only in designated areas.

Twin Cities Ranges at a Glance

FacilityAreaIndoor / OutdoorRentalsLessonsAccessVerified price
Marsh Lake RangeBloomington (south)OutdoorNo β€” bring your ownYouth/group programsFree public, walk-inFree
Solomon Park RangeMinneapolis properOutdoorNot statedNot statedCity park, walk-inNot stated
Elm Creek RangeDayton / Maple GroveOutdoorNo β€” pass excludes equipmentGroup lessonsPark pass required$10/day Β· $47/year
Mississippi GatewayBrooklyn ParkOutdoorNo β€” same pass ruleGroup lessonsPark pass required$10/day Β· $47/year
Lake Elmo ReserveLake Elmo (east)OutdoorNot statedNot stated on range pageVehicle permit requiredPermit (amount not stated)
Rapids Archery ClubAndover (Bunker Hills)Indoor + outdoorClass equipment providedYes β€” Winter Intro $25Open to public$5 non-member day
Average Joes ArcheryCoon RapidsIndoorProvided for lessonsYes β€” age 6+Commercial, reservationsExperience $25 Β· leagues $150–$160
Keller Regional ParkMaplewood (east)OutdoorNot statedCounty program listedCounty park, walk-inNot stated
← Scroll sideways to see all columns β†’

πŸ“ All Ranges on One Map

All eight featured facilities mapped across the metro β€” from Bloomington in the south to Andover and Coon Rapids in the north.

BloomingtonMinneapolisDaytonBrooklyn ParkLake ElmoAndoverCoon RapidsMaplewood

Map data Β© OpenStreetMap contributors Β· Open in Google Maps

Eight Twin Cities Options, In Depth

1

Marsh Lake Archery Range (City of Bloomington)

9401 France Ave S, Bloomington β€” south metro

Best for: free, year-round public practice to 70 meters β€” the metro's anchor range

At a Glance

πŸ“
Address
9401 France Avenue South, Bloomington, MN 55431
🌐
🎯
Range
18 stations, 10 yards to 70 meters β€” Olympic and gaming targets
πŸ•
Hours
Open year-round Β· opens half an hour before sunrise, closes at dusk Β· not illuminated
πŸ’°
Cost
Free Β· no reservations
🚫
Rules
Bring your own equipment β€” rental equipment is not available Β· broadhead arrows prohibited at all times

Why we picked it

The Twin Cities' public-access anchor, and it is genuinely free: eighteen stations from 10 yards all the way to 70 meters β€” Olympic distance β€” with no reservation and no permit, open every day of the year from half an hour before sunrise to dusk. The City of Bloomington publishes every one of those details, which makes Marsh Lake the most officially documented free range in the entire metro.

Good to know

The trade-offs are explicit and official: no rental equipment exists (bring your own bow and arrows), broadheads are prohibited at all times, and the range is not illuminated β€” winter evening practice ends at dusk. Youth and group programs run through the city's recreation system, but there are no drop-in lessons.

Who it's best for

Archers with their own equipment who want free, long-distance, year-round outdoor practice.

2

Edward C. Solomon Park Archery Range (Minneapolis Parks)

E 58th St & 15th Ave S, Minneapolis 55417 β€” in-city option

Best for: a no-frills practice stop inside Minneapolis proper

At a Glance

πŸ“
Address
E 58th Street & 15th Avenue S, Minneapolis, MN 55417
🌐
🏹
Range
City park range β€” target bales are provided; bring your own bull's-eye sheets and equipment
πŸ’°
Cost
Not stated on the official park page

Why we picked it

The in-city option: a Minneapolis Park & Recreation Board range in south Minneapolis, and one of the few archery facilities actually inside the city limits. The park page confirms the bales are there and you bring your own target faces β€” a true practice stop rather than a destination.

Good to know

The MPRB page publishes no distances, hours or fees for the range, and the site blocks automated access β€” treat every detail beyond "bales provided, bring your own sheets" as unconfirmed until you check the park board's current materials.

Who it's best for

South-Minneapolis residents who want a quick outdoor practice stop in the city.

3

Elm Creek Archery Range (Three Rivers Park District)

13387 129th Ave N, Dayton / Maple Grove β€” northwest metro

Best for: the biggest park-district range β€” 30 acres with a walk-through course

At a Glance

πŸ“
Address
13387 129th Avenue North, Dayton, MN 55327 (Elm Creek Park Reserve)
🌐
🎯
Range
30-acre archery range Β· walk-through course Β· elevated shooting platform
πŸ’°
Cost
$10/day or $47/year archery pass Β· extra pass $23.50 Β· ages 15 and under free with a paying adult
🚫
Rules
Passes do not include equipment rentals Β· crossbows and broadheads only in designated areas Β· prohibited on the walk-through course

Why we picked it

Three Rivers' flagship archery property: a 30-acre range with a walk-through course and an elevated platform β€” the closest thing the metro has to a destination practice park. The district's pass system is transparent: $10 a day or $47 a year, with kids 15 and under free alongside a paying adult.

Good to know

The pass covers the range, not equipment β€” Three Rivers says so explicitly, and there is no rental program. Crossbow and broadhead users get designated areas only, and the walk-through course is off-limits to both. Group lessons run through the Outdoor Recreation School with equipment included; pricing is by phone.

Who it's best for

West-metro archers who want a big outdoor range with a real course, at park-pass prices.

4

Mississippi Gateway Archery Range (Three Rivers)

10360 W River Rd, Brooklyn Park β€” north metro

Best for: a quick 8-lane session at 10–50 yards on the same park pass

At a Glance

πŸ“
Address
10360 West River Road, Brooklyn Park, MN 55444 (Mississippi Gateway Regional Park)
🌐
🎯
Range
8 lanes, 10 to 50 yards
πŸ’°
Cost
Same Three Rivers archery pass: $10/day or $47/year
🚫
Rules
Passes do not include equipment Β· crossbows and broadheads only in designated areas

Why we picked it

The convenient version of the Three Rivers system: eight lanes from 10 to 50 yards in Brooklyn Park, on the same pass that covers Elm Creek and Carver. For north-metro archers it is the quickest legitimate outdoor session β€” buy one annual pass and you have three ranges.

Good to know

The park runs 5 a.m. to 10 p.m., but the archery range's own hours are not separately published β€” daylight is the safe assumption. Same equipment rule as Elm Creek: the pass covers lanes, not gear.

Who it's best for

North-metro archers wanting a short, pass-based practice session.

5

Lake Elmo Park Reserve Archery Range (Washington County)

1515 Keats Ave N, Lake Elmo β€” east metro

Best for: a 12-target east-metro range for St. Paul-side archers

At a Glance

πŸ“
Address
1515 Keats Avenue North, Lake Elmo, MN 55042 (Lake Elmo Park Reserve)
🌐
🎯
Range
12 targets with yardage markers and shooting stands Β· park open 6 a.m.–10 p.m.
πŸ’°
Cost
Vehicle permit required β€” amount not stated on the official page
πŸ•
Season
Open year-round, weather permitting

Why we picked it

The east-metro workhorse for the St. Paul side: a 12-target range with yardage markers and shooting stands inside Lake Elmo Park Reserve, open year-round weather permitting. With Pig's Eye closed, this is the closest documented public range to St. Paul proper.

Good to know

Washington County charges a vehicle permit to enter the reserve, but the official page does not state the amount β€” check the county's current fee schedule before driving out. Rental and lesson details are not published on the range page.

Who it's best for

St. Paul-side and east-metro archers who want a documented 12-target range.

6

Rapids Archery Club β€” Bunker Hills

1255 133rd Ave NW, Andover (Bunker Hills Regional Park)

Best for: the metro's biggest complex: 83 outdoor stations plus 24 indoor lanes

At a Glance

πŸ“
Address
1255 133rd Avenue NW, Andover, MN 55304 (Bunker Hills Regional Park)
🌐
🎯
Ranges
83 outdoor stations across five ranges, 10 to 100 yards Β· 24-lane indoor range at 20 yards Β· dedicated broadhead range
πŸ’°
Cost
$5 non-member day rate Β· members free Β· Winter Intro class $25 (max $50/family)
πŸŽ“
Classes
Winter Intro: 6 weeks, January 2 – February 6, 2027, ages 8+ β€” equipment provided

Why we picked it

The biggest verified complex in the metro: five outdoor ranges totaling 83 stations out to 100 yards, a dedicated broadhead range, and a 24-lane indoor range at 20 yards β€” the indoor layer that carries Twin Cities archers from November through March. And it is genuinely open: non-members shoot for $5.

Good to know

Broadheads and crossbows are allowed ONLY on the dedicated broadhead range β€” everywhere else on the property they are prohibited. The club's Winter Intro class (January 2 – February 6, 2027, ages 8+) is the structured winter entry point at $25, with equipment provided.

Who it's best for

Year-round shooters who want indoor winter lanes plus 100-yard outdoor stations.

7

Average Joes Archery

1285 114th Ave NW #100, Coon Rapids β€” north metro

Best for: climate-controlled indoor lanes with lessons from age 6

At a Glance

πŸ“
Address
1285 114th Avenue NW, Suite 100, Coon Rapids, MN 55448
🌐
🎯
Range
Climate-controlled indoor range β€” the operator markets January shooting explicitly
πŸ’°
Cost
Archery Experience $25 Β· Adult 360 League $150 Β· Adult 3D League $160 Β· open-shoot rate not stated
πŸŽ“
Lessons
All levels from age 6 Β· JOAD Β· intro classes β€” equipment provided for lessons and experiences

Why we picked it

The commercial indoor layer of the north metro: a climate-controlled range in Coon Rapids that leans into winter β€” the operator's own beginner guide pitches January shooting. With lessons starting at age 6, JOAD and 360/3D leagues, it is the family-shaped alternative to the club scene.

Good to know

The $25 Archery Experience and league prices are published, but the plain open-shoot lane rate is not β€” call for it. Equipment is provided for lessons and experiences; standalone rental terms are not stated.

Who it's best for

Families and beginners who want warm indoor lanes, structured lessons and winter leagues.

8

Keller Regional Park Archery Range (Ramsey County)

Golfview section, 2166 Maplewood Dr, Maplewood β€” east metro

Best for: an east-metro county option with long park hours

At a Glance

πŸ“
Address
2166 Maplewood Drive, Maplewood, MN 55109 (Keller Regional Park, Golfview section)
🌐
πŸ•
Hours
Park open 5 a.m.–11 p.m. β€” range-specific hours not published
🏹
Programs
Ramsey County lists a guided "Arrows Out Archery" program β€” details not on the range page

Why we picked it

A county option for the Maplewood/east side: an archery range inside Keller Regional Park with the park's long 5 a.m.–11 p.m. window. With Pig's Eye closed, Ramsey County residents have few closer documented choices.

Good to know

The county page publishes almost nothing about the range itself β€” no distances, fees or equipment rules β€” and the guided program's details live elsewhere. Treat it as a confirmed-location range whose specifics you should confirm by phone before a first visit.

Who it's best for

Ramsey County residents who want a local outdoor range without crossing the river.

Also Worth Knowing About

  • Pig's Eye Regional Park Archery Range (St. Paul) β€” CLOSED. The City of St. Paul's official page states the range is closed until further notice. Directories and local listicles still list it as open; do not plan a visit.
  • Carver Archery Range (Waconia) β€” Three Rivers' third range, same $10/day or $47/year pass. Stationary range open year-round; the walk-through course runs April 1 – November 15.
  • Bwana Archery (Little Canada) β€” the official domain currently renders only a placeholder with no business content. Could not be fact-checked officially; excluded.
  • Several once-listed Minneapolis park ranges (Columbia Park, Theodore Wirth) have no current archery documentation on official park pages β€” treat third-party listings as unverified.

Before You Go: Twin Cities-Specific Practicalities

Winter decides everything. From November through March the outdoor ranges stay open but unlit and dusk-bound; the practical season lives indoors at Rapids (24 lanes, $5) and Average Joes. January is the classic entry point β€” Rapids' Winter Intro starts January 2, 2027.

The pass geography. Three Rivers' $47 annual pass is the metro's best value if you shoot regularly on the west/north side: one pass, three ranges. Lake Elmo is a separate county with a separate vehicle permit.

Rentals barely exist. Every public and park range in this guide requires your own equipment, and Three Rivers says so explicitly. Gear is provided only inside lessons and club classes.

Broadhead rules are strict. Marsh Lake bans broadheads outright; Three Rivers restricts them to designated areas; Rapids confines them to the dedicated broadhead range. Know the rule before you load the quiver.

How We Chose These Ranges

  • Access model β€” free public, park pass, club or commercial indoor
  • The equipment question β€” no public range in the metro rents gear, and we say where
  • Winter capability β€” the metro's real search season is November–March
  • Distance capability β€” Marsh Lake reaches 70 m, Rapids reaches 100 yd
  • Stale-listing decontamination β€” Pig's Eye is closed and unverified park ranges are excluded
  • Every fact checked from official operator, park-district or county pages in October 2026

We have not visited these ranges in person. Every fact below comes from official operator, park-district, city or county pages, checked in October 2026. Twin Cities directories carry stale open-status claims β€” where the operator's own page conflicts with a directory, we follow the operator, and where no official information exists, we exclude the facility.

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes β€” Marsh Lake Archery Range in Bloomington. It is officially free, open year-round, needs no reservation, and runs 18 stations from 10 yards to 70 meters. Bring your own equipment; rentals do not exist there.

Rapids Archery Club at Bunker Hills (Andover) has a 24-lane indoor range at 20 yards, open to non-members for $5. Average Joes Archery in Coon Rapids is the climate-controlled commercial option with lessons from age 6.

Rentals are nearly absent from public ranges β€” Marsh Lake and the Three Rivers ranges explicitly do not rent. Equipment is provided inside lessons: Rapids' $25 Winter Intro class and Average Joes' $25 Archery Experience are the beginner paths.

No. The City of St. Paul's official page says the Pig's Eye range is closed until further notice. Many directories still list it as open β€” the closest documented public alternatives are Lake Elmo and Keller Regional Park.

Marsh Lake is explicitly open year-round, and Lake Elmo is year-round weather permitting. The catch is winter: outdoor ranges close at dusk and are not illuminated, which is why the indoor options carry the cold months.

Yes. Elm Creek, Mississippi Gateway and Carver all require the Three Rivers archery pass: $10/day or $47/year, ages 15 and under free with a paying adult. The pass covers lanes, not equipment.

Rapids Archery Club has the metro's dedicated broadhead range β€” broadheads and crossbows are allowed only there on the property. Three Rivers allows them in designated areas, and Marsh Lake prohibits broadheads entirely.

Rapids Archery Club at Bunker Hills: 83 outdoor stations across five ranges (10 to 100 yards) plus a 24-lane indoor range β€” verified from the club's own range pages.

πŸ“š Sources & Verification

Twin Cities archery information is split across city, county and park-district pages, and St. Paul's official pages document a closure most directories miss. Every claim above comes from the official pages listed below, checked October 2026.